“You don’t tug on Superman’s cape

     you don’t spit into the wind

You don’t mess around with the Lone Ranger…”   Jim Croce

     and you don’t try to be tough and go hiking with bronchitis!!!

 

I know it doesn’t rhyme, but maybe that’s the point.  I think that at about the halfway mark of our “stroll”, after being passed by a bunch of cackling Cub Scouts, my nickname got changed from “Bear” to “Wally the Walrus”. I was puffing and wheezing and coughing like a fish out of water.

Regardless, it was a nice cool Fall day, and I got through it…and got a few nice images to boot.  I really like the almost 800mm lens on this Nikon Coolpix, coupled with the anti-shake.  With me wheezing and shaky, it really proved benificial.

We started off at a bird blind and the cardinals were quite playful and flitted around continously.  It was really a case of picking a point and focusing and waiting for the bird to come to you rather than trying to follow and guess where it would alight.

 

Cardinal

 

Cardinal in Tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t you walk away from me

Listen to me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The squirrel was constantly eating and posing.

My food

Squirrel portrait

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stacy got some good images of a bee covered in pollen (see her last post) and a couple of butterflies.  I really had issues with close-focusing and the few insect shots I got were more dumb luck than skill.

Butterfly and bug

Monarch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stacy got me an extension kit for the Nikon a few weeks ago and this was my first chance to play with it.  I gives me the ability to mount and use filters as opposed to post-production computer work (which I despise).  I much prefer to compose and image what I see through the viewfinder versus spending hours trying to piece something together on the computer later.  The other neat thing I found, by accident, is that if I brought my lens back for a wide-angle, I could use the round extension tube to frame the subject.

My Girl framed by extension tube

 

Attempting to shoot longer exposures, at 1400 hours with the Sun just past it’s high point, I moved to a more shaded area and stacked a circular polarizing filter over my neutral density filter, thereby giving my around a 1/4 second exposure at ASA 100.

Small Falls

 

Small Falls through extension tube

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really like the silky look the water gets with the longer exposures.  It gives more character, I think.

On the way out of the park, Stacy saw a sign for a waterfall and we decided to give it a go.  After about a 14 mile (15 minute) sprawling walk through the woods, we came to a reinforced wooden platform to view the falls.  Stacy decided that being a couple of hundred yards away from the falls, both vertically and distance-wise, was too much.  Ignoring the “Stop” signs she walked/slid down the hill to get a better angle.  My gasping butt was saved again by the incredible lens power of the little Nikon.

Twin Falls

Twin Falls Close-up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not only was I able to get comparable images (different angles) of the falls, but I can actually read the display on the back of her Cannon!

My Girl, long lens

 

That was it for this roadtrip.  Along with the extension tube, the kit she gave me came with both a macro and wide-angle attachment.  There’s another state park (Lost Maples) a couple of hours from here that should have some nice foliage color change in another week or so.  Looks like that might be our next roadtrip to look forward to.

