Starshine’s 94 year-old Grandmother (Mama) moved in with us a couple of weeks ago.  She’s a smart-alec and quite independent (it’s like looking in a mirror).  However, six days into her visit we’re sitting up in bed trying to work the knots out of Starshine’s neck, when we heard this…THUMP…and then…not a sound.  Ahhhh shit!!!

We found Mama on the floor of the bathroom (somehow she missed hitting the toilet and bathtub).  Her hip was obviously broken and she wasn’t saying much.  We toned out EMS and started an IV while we were waiting so the medics could give her something as soon as they got there.  The only amusing part of the story that gets re-told is myself and three medics in a three foot wide by 10 foot long bathroom, trying to get Mama onto a scoop backboard. One of us in the bathtub, one straddling the toilet.  It was like a grown-up games of Twister with boys!!

We had her transported to a downtown San Antonio hospital (who’s level of “patient care” was so absolutely atrocious I won’t even dignify them by mentioning their name). The only sage wisdom I can impart is that if any of your family members is hospitalized, make sure someone stays with them at all times  From unanswered call lights, rude dismissive staff, almost an hour wait for pain meds, and forgotten or uncharted ord3rs, it was an adventure.

Mam’s spirits, however, stayed good.  Her favorite part of the ride was a stuffed dog we picked up at Walgreens that she named “Pojo”.

 

Mama and Pojo

Mama and Pojo

jan 186

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That silly dog went everywhere with her!  When she was transferred to rehab she even asked the medics if Pojo could ride in the ambulance with her.  Of course that probably softened her telling one of the medics that he would be more handsome if her didn’t have all those tatoos on his arms!

She had her hip surgery in the late evening and was back in her room in a couple of hours.  The drugs threw her for a loop though.  She kept asking Starshine for the pilot to land the plane so she could get up and walk around! Starshine’s Aunt flew in and between the three of us, we made sure she was never by herself.  On one of my watches I thought she was asleep an was clicking through channels on the remote. Then I hear next to me, “Go back.  I wanna see the big lizards”. Huh?  So we spent the next three hours watching a “Swamp People” marathon on the History channel.  For those uninitiated (like myself) it’s about catching alligators in the Louisiana swamps.

 

After watching Swamp People

After watching Swamp People

She was up in the chair the next day and practicing walking to the recliner or the window(about 6 feet) and back to her bed.

One day post op

One day post op

She was discharged to rehab three days after her surgery.  The first day there she managed to stand, with assistance, for over seven minutes while she put a puzzle together. 

 

 

Puzzle building

Puzzle building

 

 

Weight training

Weight training

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like I said, her resilience continues to amaze me.  I see so many people who use the ER as their personal pharmacy and whine and cry like drama queens.  I have a shoebox in my CT room that I’ve decorated and labeled ‘Man Cards”.  I typically have quite a collection by the end of the week.

Mama, however, is looking forward to coming home, doesn’t complain and is slowly getting better.  In this picture she was sitting outside in her pajamas, enjoying the 80 degree afternoon.

Front porch sittin'

Front porch sittin’

I can only hope that I’m as ornery and obstinate when I get to her age.

