I’m an old dinosaur, and I’ll admit to that.  Case in point, I wrote this piece on a legal pad, sitting in the parking garage at 10:30 at night before shift. “Social Media” is still foreign to me, but I’m trying.

 

Bear

Bear

 

I got the “Bear” nickname for a couple of reasons.  Second was a quadripalegic patient who couldn’t remember my name from previous visits, but insisted that ‘no one would move him unless “The Bear” was present’.  The first reason though, is my almost obsessive want (for lack of a better word) for privacy in my life.  Rather than be rude, at 6′ 2″ and almost 225 lbs, I found that just by looking–and growling occasionally–it kept most at a distance.  I had a Doc once ask me, “Just smile for a minute cause you just standing there scares the crap outta me.”

I needed to say all that to bring you to understand all of this. 

16th Birthday

My daughter, Alexis, turned 16 about a month ago.  Her Mother and I have been divorced for a while now and, while not always agreeing on everything, we’ve always tried to put Alexis’ best interests first.

 

Got Cake??

Got Cake??

   

 

Mom, Alexis, G-Ma

Mom, Alexis, G-Ma

 

 

Stacy, Alexis and Laurie

Stacy, Alexis and Laurie

 

 

 

 

 

I know I’m her Father and the rules say that I have to Love her regardless.  In Alexis’ room is a drawing we got, at the Purple Cat in Rhode Island, by Brian Andreas that says, “There has never been a day when I have not been proud of you, I said to my daughter.  Though some days I’m louder about other stuff so it’s easy to miss that”.

Maybe it’s time everyone knows how proud I really am.

Alexis started bowling about 7 or 8 years ago on a Saturday morning league, and loved it.  I loved it because this is San Antonio, Texas and my kid likes something inside in the air conditioning!  That lead to Road Runers league on weekends and Monday nights leagues…and then she hit High School…

 

Freshman Year

Freshman Year

 

She thrived in her Freshman year but most importantly–no pun intended–she had a ball on the bowling team!!  At that point she was bowling at least 9 games, plus high school practice and matches, a week. 160 or 170 scores for games were not unusual.

 

Sophmore Year

Sophmore Year

 

 

MacAurthur Squad

MacArthur Squad

 

Now in her Sophmore year, with a 180+ average and bowling games over 200, she seems to have found her groove.  As a 16 year-old High School sophmore she, and 4 or 5 other girls, have won the right to represent MacArthur High School (which has almost 3,000 students) in the Texas State Bowling Competition in Fort Worth, Texas this weekend!!

I know where I was ‘at’ at 16, so I can understand how hard she’s worked and what she’s given up to get here.

Alexis,

   I’m so proud of all you’ve accomplished with school, bowling, and just as a young lady.  This weekend, Auntie Laurie would tell you to “Kick Some Butt”!!!  Me, Stacy, and Mamma will be there to tell you the same thing.  No matter what happens this weekend though, I’ve put it out there and now the whole world knows what you’ve accomplished and how proud we all are of you!  I Love You

                                                                                                                            Dad

 

 

 

