It’s been a while since I’ve had anything of value to post but we went to a funeral today…and it got me thinking…

Health issues not withstanding, I realize that I’ll be knockin’ on that door well before Starshine–but I don’t want to be remembered  like what I see around us today.

This person was nice, well-respected, and liked, but the people who sit in this funeral home around me are anything but.

Like strangers from an out-of-town wedding, the room is split cleanly down the center.  Plastic faces and fake tears.  Minds more concerned about who’s getting what and how much, than what this persons life was worth.  All those years and lessons taught by this soul in front of them, reduced to a bunch of rats scrambling for the biggest piece of the pie.

The minister stands at the podium reading off a cue card, clearly never having met the deceased.  As he sits, someone in the back clicks the button on a CD player and soft tones of “Amazing Grace” echo through the funeral home. As it finishes, he stands and begins to explain the 23 Psalm.  All so simplistic in it’s un-originality and certainly not worthy of the respect this person deserves.

Although we’ve talked about burial vs. cremation, we haven’t talked about this, and I realize that this is not at all what I want for, or from, my family and friends.

My best friend died a few years back.  I know those of us in Emergency Medicine tend to be a bit irreverant, but his memorial service was…him,  The only commonality was the blue jeans everyone wore.  I had a Hawaiian shirt with big, orange flowers on it. There were medics manning the Barbeque pit. There was a small stage set up, behind his motorcycle, where at least 50-60 people got up and exchanged lessons he had taught, or shared amusing stories.

I believe I could approve of something like that, before Starshine throws my burnt ashes off the back of a sailboat somewhere in the ocean.   I’d like to see a bunch of people, wearing whatever makes them comfortable, get together to eat, listen to music, and tell stories.

I respect your religion, but I don’t want to hear “Amazing Grace”.  I want to see thoughtful faces crack into a smile as they listen to the lyrics for “The Wind” by Zac Brown carry through the room.

“Where the wind blows, Babe

you can bet

I’ll be ridin’ high with it

Holdin on for dear Life

Like I always did”

Again, with respect for the 23 Psalm, I’d like to see Starshine smile, and maybe blush, as people recount memorable and embarassing moments from years gone by.

And finally, when the stories and the food and the rum is all gone, people leave with the acoustic verses of Buffett’s “Stories we could tell” whispering in their ears.

“If you ever wonder why

we ride this carousel,

We do it for the

stories we could tell”

Sometimes it’s scary when a creative, Renaissance man gets to thinking…

I Love you Starshine

